UROP: Potential Faculty Sponsors in CFANS

If you want to do a project in the Undergraduate Research Opportunities Program (UROP), the first steps are to identify a faculty member you'd like to work with, and to develop a proposal. Most faculty welcome the opportunity to supervise and collaborate with students on these projects.

CFANS professors who have sponsored past UROP student-projects or who are willing to collaborate in the future include:

Applied Economics

Dr. Elizabeth Davis, Department of Applied Economics
612-625-7028, edavis@umn.edu
Interests: Labor Economics, Poverty and Welfare Reform, Rural Economics

Dr. Frances Homans, Department of Applied Economics
612-625-6220, fhomans@umn.edu
Interests: Regulation of renewable natural resources, both in commercial and recreational settings.

Food, Animal and Nutritional Sciences

Dr. Brian Crooker, Department of Animal Science
612-625-3185, crook001@umn.edu
Interests: Nutritional physiology and lactation in dairy cattle

Dr. Francisco Diez Gonzalez, Department of Food Science and Nutrition
612-624-9756, fdiez@umn.edu
Interests: Food safety microbiology, foodborne pathogens, safety of fresh fruits and vegetables, pre-harvest control of pathogenic E. coli, bioterroism agent, safety of organic foods

Dr. Craig Hassel, Department of Food Science and Nutrition
612-624-7288, chassel@umn.edu
Interests: Diversity in food and health epistemology, cross-cultural engagement

Dr. Ted LaBuza, Department of Food Science and Nutrition
612-624-9701, tplabuza@umn.edu
Interests: Water activity, food stability, food safety, food law, shelf life testing and dating, bioterrorism, contaminants in food, time-temperature integrator tags

Dr. Krishona Martinson, Department of Animal Science
612-625-6776, krishona@umn.edu
Interests: Equine Forage Utilization, Equine Industry Impacts and Trends

Dr. Douglas Mashek, Department of Food Science & Nutrition
612-626-2904, dmashek@umn.edu
Interests: Saturated and Polyunsaturated Fatty Acids

Dr. Laura Mauro, Department of Animal Science
612-624-6274, mauro002@umn.edu
Interests: Cellular biology, animal physiology

Dr. Len Marquart, Department of Food Science and Nutrition
612-624-3255, lmarquar@umn.edu
Interests: Food quality, food service management, whole grains and health, cereal grains

Dr. Marla Reicks, Department of Food Science and Nutrition
612-624-4735, mreicks@umn.edu
Interests: Nutrition education and application of behavior change theory

Dr. Tonya Schoenfuss, Department of Food Science & Nutrition
612-624-3090, tschoenf@umn.edu
Interests: Cheese processing and manufacturing, fermented milks

Dr. Joanne Slavin, Department of Food Science & Nutrition
612-624-7234, jslavin@umn.edu
Dietary Fiber, Resistant Starch, Phytochemicals

Dr. Chery Smith, Department of Food Science and Nutrition
612-624-2217, csmith@umn.edu
Interests: Social Affects of Nutritional Status and Dietary Behavior, Obesity

Dr. Zata Vickers, Department of Food Science and Nutrition
612-624-2257, zvickers@umn.edu
Interests: Food acceptability, sensory evaluation of foods

Plant Sciences

Dr. Neil Anderson, Department of Horticultural Science
612-624-6701, ander044@umn.edu
Interests: Flower breeding and genetics

Dr. Lois Braun, Department of Agronomy & Plant Genetics
651-641-1880, brau0259@umn.edu

Dr. Changbin Chen, Department of Horticultural Science
612-626-5965, chenx481@umn.edu
Interests: Plant Molecular Genetics

Dr. Jerry Cohen, Department of Horticultural Science
612-624-9212, cohen047@umn.edu
Interests: Plant biochemistry; Cellular and molecular biology related to the regulation of plant growth and development.

Dr. Linda Kinkel, Department of Plant Pathology
612-625-0277, kinkel@umn.edu
Interests: Ecology of plant-associated micro-organisms, especially antibiotic-producing bacteria, in native prairie and in agricultural soils

Dr. James Kurle, Department of Plant Pathology
612-625-3167, kurle001@umn.edu
Interests: Soybean yield, Soybean Cultivars

Dr. Deborah Samac, Department of Plant Pathology
612-625-1243, dasamac@umn.edu
Interests: Disease resistance and persistence of alfalfa stands, and to introduce new traits into alfalfa to increase utilization in new environments and for new uses

Dr. Alan Smith, Department of Horticultural Science
612-624-9290, smith022@umn.edu
Interests: Genetics, biotechnology, tissue cultures

Dr. Brian Steffenson, Department of Plant Pathology
612-625-4735, bsteffen@umn.edu
Interests: Barley genetics, disease resistance

Dr. Cindy Tong, Department of Horticultural Science
612-624-3419, c-tong@umn.edu
Interests: Molecular biology

Dr. Eric Watkins, Department of Horticultural Science
612-624-7496, ewatkins@umn.edu
Interests: Turfgrass science

Bioresources and Bioenergy

Dr. Bo Hu, Department of Bioproducts & Biosystems Engineering
612-625-4215, bhu@umn.edu
Interests: Biomaterials and Drug Delivery, Cell Immobilization and Granulation

Dr. Kevin Janni, Department of Bioproducts and Biosystems Engineering
612-625-3108, kjanni@umn.edu
Interests: Air quality, livestock systems, ventilation

Dr. Roger Ruan, Department of Bioproducts and Biosystems Engineering
612-625-1710, ruanx001@umn.edu
Interests: Biorefining, bioprocessing, biofuel, biomaterial and value-added process development

Dr. Jonathan Schilling, Department of Bioproducts and Biosystems Engineering
612-624-1761, schillin@umn.edu
Interests: Biodeterioration and biodegradation

Dr. Sangwon Suh, Department of Bioproducts and Biosystems Engineering
612-624-5307, sangwon@umn.edu
Interests: Industrial ecology and Life Cycle Analysis

Dr. Ulrike Tschirner, Department of Bioproducts and Biosystems Engineering
612-624-8798, tschi007@umn.edu
Interests: Biomass conversion (pretreatment, saccharification, pulping)

Environmental Sciences, Policy and Management

Dr. Todd Arnold, Department of Fisheries, Wildlife & Conservation Biology
612-624-2220, arnol065@umn.edu
Interests: Population ecology and management of grassland and wetland-dependent wildlife

Dr. Robert Blair, Department of Fisheries, Wildlife & Conservation Biology
612-624-2198, blairrb@umn.edu
Interests: Land use effects on bird and butterfly communities

Dr. Dean Current, Department of Forest Resources
612-624-4299, curre002@umn.edu
Interests: Fair trade, sustainable natural resource management

Dr. Mae Davenport, Department of Forest Resources
612-625-5212, mdaven@umn.edu
Interests: Sustainable Land Use, Recreation Planning, Community-Based Ecosystem Management

Dr. Tim Griffis, Department of Soil, Water and Climate
612-625-3117, tgriffis@umn.edu
Interests: Climatology

Dr. Rocky Gutierrez, Department of Fisheries, Wildlife & Conservation Biology
612-624-2720, gutie012@umn.edu
Interests: Game bird ecology; endangered species; and habitat relationships of wildlife

Dr. Jose Hernandez, Department of Soil, Water & Climate
612-625-4731, jahernan@umn.edu

Mark Hove, Department of Fisheries, Wildlife & Conservation Biology
612-624-3019, hovex002@umn.edu
Interests: Freshwater mussels, upper-Midwest mussel and fish distribution

Dr. Kenneth Kozak, Department of Fisheries, Wildlife & Conservation Biology
612-624-3982, kozak016@umn.edu
Interests: Amphibians and Reptiles Species Accumulation

Dr. Edward Nater, Department of Soil, Water & Climate
612-625-1725, enater@umn.edu
Interests: Biogeochemical processes of mercury and other pollutants, wet soils, peatlands

Dr. Karen Oberhauser, Department of Fisheries, Wildlife & Conservation Biology
612-624-8706, oberh001@umn.edu
Interests: Invertebrate conservation and ecology, with particular interest in monarch butterflies; Citizen Science and ecological monitoring; Promoting a citizenry with a high degree of scientific and environmental literacy.

Dr. Michael Russelle, Department of Soil, Water and Climate
612-625-8145, russelle@umn.edu
Interests: Agricultural impacts on the environment

Dr. Ingrid Schneider, Department of Forest Resources
612-624-2250, ingridss@umn.edu
Interests: Attitudes and behaviors of those involved in recreation and nature-based tourism activities. Specific interests include conflict and diversity in recreation.

Dr. Andrew Simons, Department of Fisheries, Wildlife & Conservation Biology
612-624-6292, asimons@umn.edu
Interests: Fish distribution and evolution

Dr. David Smith, Department of Fisheries, Wildlife & Conservation Biology
612-624-5369, smith017@umn.edu
Interests: Biology and conservation of Asian mammals, conservation data bases, ecosystem management, and population genetic structure

Dr. Peter Sorensen, Department of Fisheries, Wildlife & Conservation Biology
612-624-4997, soren003@umn.edu
Interests: Physiology and behavior of fish; olfaction; fish reproductive biology; pheromones; control of exotics; fish migration; aquatic chemical ecology

Dr. Brandy Toner, Department of Soil, Water & Climate
612-624-1362, toner@umn.edu
Interests: Chemical and Biological Processes of Metals

Dr. Robert Venette, Department of Entomology
651-649-5028, venet001@umn.edu
Interests: Invasion Biology and Population Ecology of Exotic Species, Statistical methods to quantify risk associated with pink bollworm on cotton

Dr. Bruce Vondracek, Department of Fisheries, Wildlife & Conservation Biology
612-624-8748, vondr001@umn.edu
Interests: Fish community ecology and stream ecology