Borealis Night of Excellence

Borealis Night of ExcellenceOn Friday, April 20, the CFANS Alumni Society and CFANS Student Board will honor recipients of the Student Board Awards and Alumni Society Awards, Mentor Program honorees, and Alumni Society scholarship recipients. The Alumni Society will also recognize this year's inductees of the Borealis Circle - a new recognition society honoring Alumni Society award recipients and leaders. Help us celebrate outstanding students, alumni, faculty, staff and friends of the college! 

RSVP by Wednesday, April 18th!

See below for the list of 2018 Award Winners!

2018 Honorees

Alumni Society Award Recipients

Alumni Advocate Award – Greg Harder '90 (A.A.S. Livestock Production)
Alumni Service Award – Tabare Abadie '92 '94 (M.S.; Ph.D. Plant Breeding)
Distinguished Alumni Award - Eric Lee-Mader '05 (M.Ag)
Distinguished Faculty Award – Charles Blinn; Eli Sagor '13 (Ph.D. Natural Resource Science)
Distinguished Staff Award – Brian Barber
Outstanding Friend Award – Don and Sandy Henry
Student Leadership Award, Undergraduate – Shantal Pai
Student Leadership Award, Graduate – Morrine Omolo
Lifetime Achievement Award – Sander Ludeman '69 (B.S. Agricultural Economics)

Learn about the awards above here.

Borealis Circle Inductees

Stay tuned for the announcement of the 2018 Borealis Circle inductees!

Student Board Award Recipients

Outstanding Organizational Programming: MANRRS
Outstanding Membership Recruitment: UMN Horticulture Club
Outstanding Organizational Partnership: Agricultural Education Club
Outstanding Philanthropic Events:  Alpha Gamma Rho & Beta of Clovia
Outstanding Professor:  Tade Okediji
Outstanding Professional Advisor: Gary Cooper
Outstanding Faculty Adivsor: Francesca Cuthbert
Outstanding Club Advisor: Mary Buschette 
Little Red Oil Can: 
Student: Haleigh Ortmeier-Clarke
Faculty/Staff: Collen O'Connor

CFANS Mentor Program Honorees

5-Year Mentors
David Shimota

10-Year Mentors
Paul Hugunin

15-Year Mentors
John Foley

Alumni Society Scholarship Recipients, 2017-18

Undergraduate Awards:
Edward Anderson
Katherine Benson
Ethan Dado
Kyra Flom
Katherine Gathje
Drew Gilman
Ryan Keenan
Kia Kivi
Alison Lucero-Simmons
Kelsey Luhmann
Hannah Milos
Logan Neu
Emily Pliscott
Grace Prins
Colin Robinson
Melisa Rodriguez
Leah Ruen
Madelyn Schaut
Jeffrey Tillery
Sierra Williamson
Lin Zhang

Graduate Awards:
Anthony Auletta
Alexander Liebman
Divek V. T. Nair
Gerald Presley
Shuoli Zhao