CFANS on the Scholars Walk

The Scholars Walk, a wide pathway featuring 40 bur oak trees and monuments, celebrates the research and classroom accomplishments of the U's award-winning faculty and students, and for the first time provides a prominent, permanent memorial to those honored.

Among the national and international award recipients recognized are the U's Nobel and Pulitzer Prize winners, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences winners, national academies inductees, and Rhodes, Truman, and Marshall Scholars. University award recipients recognized include the Regents Professors, McKnight Distinguished Professors, McKnight Presidential Chairs, Morse-Alumni Distinguished Undergraduate Teachers, and the Outstanding Graduate and Professional Teachers. A special faculty committee assisted planners of the Scholars Walk in determining the names of those to be included.

The Scholars Walk stretches from Walnut Street near the McNamara Alumni Center west to Appleby Hall and Pleasant Street. It is the major east-west walkway on the East Bank campus, complementing the beautiful Northrop Mall which runs north-south.

Nobel Prize

  • Norman Borlaug, B.S. Forestry, 1937; M.S. (1939) and Ph.D. (1942), Plant Pathology

Wolf Prize

  • Ronald Phillips, Agronomy and Plant Genetics, 2007

National Academy of Sciences

  • Stephen Polasky, Applied Economics, 2010
  • Ronald L. Phillips, Agronomy and Plant Genetics, 1991
  • Vernon W. Ruttan, Applied Economics, 1990
  • Elvin Stakman, Plant Pathology, 1934

American Academy of Arts and Sciences

  • Peter Reich, Department of Forest Resources, 2011
  • G. Edward Schuh, Applied Economics, 1977

National Medal of Science

  • Norman Borlaug, Plant Physiology, 2004

McArthur Foundation Fellowship

  • Marla Spivak, Entomology, 2010

Regents Professors

  • Clyde M. Christensen, Plant Pathology, 1973
  • Vernon W. Ruttan, Agriculture and Applied Economics, 1986
  • Ronald L. Phillips, Agronomy and Plant Genetics,,1993

McKnight Presidential Chair

  • Ronald Phillips, Genomics, 1999

McKnight Distinguished University Professors

  • C. Ford Runge, Applied Economics, 1998
  • Ann M. Fallon, Entomology, 1999
  • Peter Reich, Forest Resources, 2003
  • Nevin Young, Plant Pathology,,2004
  • Michael Sadowsky, Soil, Water & Climate, 2004
  • David A. Andow, Entomology, 2005
  • Chengyan Yue, Horticultural Science/Applied Economics, 2012
  • Brian Aukema, Entomology, 2012

Morse-Alumni Award Recipients

  • Carrie P. Earthman, Department of Food Science and Nutrition, 2012-13
  • Ulrike Tschirner, Department of Bioproducts and Biosystems Engineering, 2011-12
  • Dennis Becker, Department of Forest Resources, 2011-12
  • Albert Markhart, Department of Horticultural Science, 2008-09
  • John Loegering, Department of Fisheries, Wildlife and Conservation Biology, 2008-09
  • Todd Arnold, Department of Fisheries, Wildlife and Conservation Biology, 2007-08
  • Kristen Nelson, Department of Forest Resources, 2007-08
  • Jay Bell, Department of Soil, Water and Climate, 2006-07
  • Donald Liu, Department of Applied Ecomonics, 2005-06
  • Marshall D. Stern, Department of Animal Science, 2005-06
  • Michael E. White, Department of Animal Science, 2004-05
  • Dorothy H. Anderson, Department of Forest Resources. 1999-2000
  • Jim Perry, Department of Fisheries and Wildlife, 1998-99
  • Alan G. Hunter, Department of Animal Science, 1995-96
  • Terence H. Cooper, Department of Soil, Water, and Climate, 1995-96
  • Emily E. Hoover, Department of Horticulture, 1994-95
  • Leslie B. Hansen, Department of Animal Science, 1993-94
  • Willis L. Peterson, College of Agriculture, 1991-92
  • Bert T. Swanson II, College of Agriculture, 1990-91
  • Laurie Schultz Hayes, College of Agriculture, 1989-90
  • Steve R. Simmons, College of Agriculture, 1988-89
  • Donald E. Otterby, College of Agriculture, 1988-89
  • Theodore P. Labuza, College of Agriculture, 1987-88
  • Eugene C. Allen, College of Agriculture, 1983-84
  • Russell S. Adams Jr., College of Agriculture, 1982-83
  • Vernon B. Cardwell, College of Agriculture, 1980-81
  • Richard D. Goodrich, College of Agriculture, 1978-79
  • Harold F. Arneman, College of Agriculture, 1978-79
  • Howard Morris, College of Agriculture, 1974-75
  • Arnett C. Mace, College of Forestry, 1973-74
  • Fred E. Koller, College of Agriculture, 1971-1972
  • John D. Helmberger, College of Agriculture, 1970-71
  • Laddie J. Elling, College of Agriculture, 1970-71
  • Merle P. Meyer, College of Forestry, 1967-68
  • Lawrence H. Smith, College of Agriculture, 1967-68
  • Kenneth E. Winsness, College of Forestry, 1965-66

Award for Outstanding Contributions to Graduate and Professional Education

  • Jay Coggins, Applied Economics, 2013-14
  • Jerry Cohen, Department of Horticultural Science, 2012-13
  • Raymond M. Newman, Department of Fisheries, Wildlife, and Conservation Biology, 2010-11
  • Ralph W. Holzenthal, Department of Entomology, 2010-11
  • Susan M. Galatowitsch, Department of Horticulture, 2003-04
  • Francesca Cuthbert, Department of Fisheries and Wildlife, 2002-03
  • Larry L. McKay, Department of Food Science and Nutrition, 2000-01
  • Kenneth N. Brooks, Department of Forest Resources, 2000-01

Major Disciplinary Awards from Professional and Scholarly Societies

USDA-ARS, Crop Science Research Award

  • D. K. Barnes, Agronomy & Plant Genetics, 1987
  • G. H. Heichel, Agronomy & Plant Genetics, 1987
  • C. P. Vance. Agronomy & Plant Genetics, 1987
  • Ronald L. Phillips, Agronomy & Plant Genetics, 1988

Monsanto Crop Science Distinguished Career Award

  • Donald C. Rasmussen, Agronomy & Plant Genetics, 1994
  • Ronald L. Phillips, Agronomy & Plant Genetics, 1997

Departmental Legacy Scholars

  • H.K. Hayes, Agronomy & Plant Genetics, 1915-1952
  • C.B. Burnham, Agronomy & Plant Genetics, 1938-1972
  • Jonas J. Christensen, Plant Pathology, 1925-1964

British Marshall Scholarship (for 2-3 years of study in the U.K. )

  • Annamarie Daley, CLA, COAFES, Poli Sci, Ag Bus Admin