Honors & Awards

Oberhauser, Reich, Polasky and Spivak

CFANS faculty and staff are among the University of Minnesota's most successful and distinguished and frequently are recognized by their peers in the scientific community.

Recent national and international award winners

Oberhauser, Reich, Polasky and SpivakWhite House Champion of Change for Citizen Science: Karen Oberhauser, Department of Fisheries, Wildlife and Conservation Biology, 2013.
American Academy of Arts and Sciences: Peter Reich, Department of Forest Resources, 2011
BBVA Foundations of Knowledge award: Peter Reich, Department of Forest Resources, 2009

National Academy of Sciences: Stephen Polasky, Department of Applied Economics, 2010

MacArthur Foundation Fellowship: Marla Spivak, Department of Entomology, 2010

University of Minnesota faculty and staff award winners

Regents Professors, current

  • Stephen Polasky, Applied Economics, 2013
  • Peter Reich, Forest Resources, 2007

Regents Professor Emeriti

Ron PhillipsRon Phillips, Agronomy and Plant Genetics, 1993-2010

Distinguished McKnight University Professors

George WeiblenGeorge Weiblen, Plant Biology/Bell Museum, 2014

Past recipients

  • David Andow, Entomology
  • Ann Fallon, Entomology
  • Paul Glewwe, Applied Economics
  • Gary Muehlbauer, Agronomy and Plant Genetics/Plant Biology
  • Peter Reich, Forest Resources
  • C. Ford Runge, Applied Economics
  • Michael Sadowsky, Soil, Water and Climate
  • Marla Spivak, Entomology
  • Nevin Young, Plant Pathology

McKnight Land-Grant Professorships

Jason HillJason Hill, Bioproducts & Biosystems Engineering, 2012-2014

Previous recipients

  • Brian Aukema, Entomology
  • Kenneth H. Kozak, Fisheries, Wildlife and Conservation
  • Dylan B. Millet, Soil, Water and Climate
  • Chengyan Yue, Horticulture Science and Applied Economics

University-wide teaching, advising and service awards

Distinguished Women Scholars Awards
This program has been established to acknowledge and honor the accomplishments of distinguished women scholars at the University of Minnesota. The focus of this award is the scholarship of distinguished women.

John Tate Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Advising
The Tate Award serves to recognize and reward high-quality academic advising. They call attention to the contribution academic advising makes to helping students formulate and achieve intellectual, career, and personal goals. By highlighting examples of outstanding advising, the Tate Awards identify professional models and celebrate the role that academic advising plays in the University's educational mission.

Morse-Alumni Teaching Award
Since 1965, the Horace T. Morse-University of Minnesota Alumni Association Award for Outstanding Contributions to Undergraduate Education has recognized excellence in contributing directly and indirectly to students' learning through teaching, research, and creative activities; advising; academic program development; and educational leadership.

Office for Public Engagement Outstanding Community Service Award
This award, established in 1999, honors community outreach and service activities of the University of Minnesota community. The award recognizes members of the University community who have devoted their time and talent to make substantial, enduring contributions to the community and to improving public life and the well-being of society. Their contributions and accomplishments have resulted in long-term and lasting changes for the public good and demonstrate an unusual commitment to the University and the greater community

Office of International Programs Distinguished Leadership Award for Internationals
The Distinguished Leadership Award for Internationals is a University-wide award for alumni, former students, and friends of the University who have distinguished themselves in their post-university work as leaders in their professional careers. This award may be conferred on alumni, former students, and friends of any campus (current or former) of the University. Individuals will have attained unusual distinction as professionals in their careers within institutions or in public service and have either demonstrated sustained outstanding achievement and leadership, or demonstrated promise of such on a local, national, or international level.

Outstanding Contributions to Graduate and Professional Education Award
This honor is awarded annually to exceptional candidates nominated by their colleges in their quest to identify excellence in postbaccalaureate, graduate, and/or professional education. In addition to honoring individual faculty members, the award will contribute to the improvement of postbaccalaureate, graduate, and professional education at the University by publicizing their work to serve as resources to the whole faculty.

President's Award for Outstanding Service
The University of Minnesota President's Award for Outstanding Service was established in 1997 to recognize faculty and staff who have provided exceptional service to the University. This award is presented each year in the spring and honors active or retired faculty or staff members who have gone well beyond their regular duties and have demonstrated an unusual commitment to the University community.

College awards

Collegiate Awards

Descriptions, nomination instructions, and lists of past recipients for awards conferred by CFANS.

Past CFANS award recipients

Complete lists of award winners from 2008-present (PDFs)

CFANS Scholars Walk honorees

The Scholars Walk, a wide pathway featuring 40 bur oak trees and monuments, celebrates the research and classroom accomplishments of the U's award-winning faculty and students, and provides a prominent, permanent memorial to those honored.