CFANS students advance to state Farm Bureau Collegiate Discussion Meet

The Minnesota Farm Bureau Federation (MFBF) hosted a regional Collegiate Discussion Meet at the University of Minnesota in St. Paul in October. The Minnesota Farm Bureau Foundation sponsors a $200 scholarship for the winner and a $100 scholarship for the runner-up for each regional Collegiate Discussion Meet.

This year’s regional winner was Trent Dado from Amery, Wisconsin. He is a junior studying animal science. The runner-up of the regional contest was Daniel Hayes from Lafayette. He is a junior studying agricultural communications and marketing.

CFANS students participated in two rounds of discussion and were judged on their basic knowledge of critical farm issues and their ability to exchange ideas and information in a setting aimed at cooperative problem solving. The two topics discussed by contestants were:

  • How can farmers and ranchers maintain their buying power with the continued trend of input supplier and provider consolidations?
  • Formation of family farm corporations in common practice. How can Farm Bureau work to ensure that the public’s positive perception of the family farm is not lost?

Dado and Hayes will advance to the state Collegiate Discussion meet to be held on Saturday, November 18 as part of the 99th MFBF Annual Meeting at the DoubleTree Hotel in Bloomington. The state winner receives an expense paid trip from the Minnesota Farm Bureau Foundation sponsored by Christensen Farms to the American Farm Bureau Federation’s (AFBF) Young Farmers & Ranchers (YF&R) Fusion Conference in Reno, Nevada, February 16-19, 2018 to participate in the national competition. The winner also receives a $500 scholarship and the runner-up a $250 scholarship from the Minnesota Farm Bureau Foundation sponsored by Gislason & Hunter.

Other contestants included Joseph Schieber of Caledonia and Jake Siewert of Lake City. [Learn more about Farm Bureau]


Pictured (from left): Daniel Hayes, runner-up; Trent Dado, winner; Jake Siewert, and Joseph Schieber.