CFANS honors and awards announced

After careful consideration of an impressive group of nominations, the CFANS Honors and Awards Committee (HAC) selected the 2017 CFANS Award Recipients.  Please attend the All College Assembly on May 9 to honor the award recipients.  The assembly, held in Cargill 105, starts at 9 a.m. with refreshments, followed by the All College Awards Presentation at 9:30 a.m., and from 10 a.m. - noon a presentation by Prof. Marla Spivak and collegiate dean updates.

Civil Service/Bargaining Unit Staff

  • Science/Technology: Jay Maher, Fisheries, Wildlife and Conservation Biology
  • Administration: Dylan VanBoxtel, Plant Pathology

Professional And Administrative Staff
Distinguished Academic (P&A) Staff Awards

  • Research: Lee Frelich, Forest Resources
  • Other Professional: Corrie Marion, Food Science and Nutrition


  • Distinguished Teaching Undergrad – Tenure: Michael Boland, Applied Economics
  • Distinguished Teaching Undergrad – Non-Tenure: Nic Jelinksi, Soil, Water, and Climate
  • Distinguished Teaching Graduate: Jerry Cohen, Horticultural Science
  • Innovation in Undergraduate Education Award: Donald Liu, Applied Economics


  • Dean E.M. Freeman Undergraduate Award: Lily Grebe, Animal Science
  • Graduate Teaching Assistant: Vanessa Perry, Natural Resource Science and Management


  • Distinguished Extension/Outreach Award: Kevin Janni, Bioproducts and Biosystems Engineering