Alumni Society Board of Directors welcomes new members

New Board Members

This spring, the CFANS Alumni Society elected three new board members: Natasha Mortenson, Daniel Peterson, and Brittany Voss. The new board members will serve a three-year term that began on July 1. The board of directors is eager to welcome their fresh insights and unique perspectives as they continue to develop and improve opportunities for alumni engagement. Below, learn more about the new members, their connections to the college, and what they hope to achieve during their time on the board. 

Natasha Mortenson ‘01 ‘06 | Agricultural Education 

Natasha Mortenson grew up on a small crop farm in West Central Minnesota.  Currently, Natasha lives in rural Swift County, along with her husband Matt and two children, Grace and Cowan.  Her involvement in FFA and 4-H all through her childhood ignited a passion for agriculture and teaching others about it.  She graduated from the University of Minnesota Twin Cities with her B.S. and M.A. in Agricultural Education. She taught agriculture and advised FFA Programming for 14 years in Morris, MN.  In May, 2014, Natasha began her work with Riverview L.L.P., in Morris, MN. She works with community relations in the communities that Riverview touches geographically, promotes agriculture everywhere she is able and works with youth to build enthusiasm for agriculture.  

Daniel Peterson ‘07 | Agricultural Marketing and Food Industries

Daniel is currently a senior marketing manager at UnitedHealth Group working on improving experiences and outcomes for members. Prior to UnitedHealth Group, he has held a variety of marketing roles at Best Buy and General Mills where he started after graduating from CFANS. Professionally, Daniel is passionate about creating emotional connections between brands and people while advocating for innovation. As a CFANS Alumni Board he hopes to work directly with the students and give back to the community of his beloved University.

Brittany Voss ‘10  | Agricultural Education 

Brittany Voss is a marketing and communications manager at CHS, Inc., where she helps translate complex industry issues into compelling, audience-centered communications. Prior to CHS, Brittany worked at a public relations agency, providing counsel and communications support to many agricultural organizations and nonprofits. While in CFANS, Brittany was an active member in many groups on campus. As a board member, she looks forward to helping connect alumni and students to the CFANS Alumni Society and increasing engagement in activities and events.

Elected officers for the 2019-2020 year include Annie Makepeace as president, Rylee Ahnen as vice president, Becky Wahlund as secretary, and Roberta Ryan as treasurer. Past-president Whitney Place will serve in an advisory role. Many thanks to retiring board members Bruce Hatteberg, Quincy Lewis, and Lauren Serbus. The Alumni Society is incredibly grateful for their service, commitment, and passion. 

Interested in getting involved with the Alumni Society or its Board of Directors? Discover how you can become a member, serve on a committee, or join the board here