Borealis Night of Excellence to honor CFANS award-winners

Join the CFANS community on April 19 for a special event co-hosted by the CFANS Alumni Society and CFANS Student Board. The evening will honor the recipients of the CFANS Alumni Society Awards and the Undergaduate Student Board Awards, plus the graduating senior class, Alumni Society scholarship recipients, and Mentor Program honorees. Help us celebrate outstanding students, alumni, faculty, staff and friends of the college!

Wednesday, April 19, 2017
5:30 p.m. - reception, featuring appetizers and a cash bar
6:15 p.m. - awards program
North Star Ballroom, St. Paul Student Center
Please submit your RSVP by Monday, April 17

2017 Honorees

Alumni Society Award Recipients
Alumni Advocate Award – Lee Thompson '79 (B.S. Agricultural Education)
Alumni Service Award – Norm Sieling '79 (B.S. Agricultural Education), and the founders of the CFANS Policy Engagement Program, Emily Nachtigal '12(B.S. Applied Economics); Leah Peterson '03 (B.S. Natural Resources Planning, Policy, and Law); Matthew Wohlman ’03 (B.S. Animal Production Systems)
Distinguished Alumni Award - Terry Ferriss '77 '80 (M.S. Horticulture, Ph.D. Horticulture)
Distinguished Faculty Award – Michael Boland '90 (M.S. Agricultural Education)
Distinguished Staff Award – Robert Craven '78 '81 (B.S. Animal Science, M.S. Agricultural Economics)
Outstanding Friend Award – Marvin Bauer
Student Leadership Award, Undergraduate – Rachel Kircher '17 (B.S. Agricultural Communications & Marketing and Animal Science)
Lifetime Achievement Award – Alan Ek '64 '65 (B.S. Forestry, M.S. Forestry)

CFANS Mentor Honorees
5-Year Mentors

  • Mary Buschette '87 (B.S. Agricultural Economics)
  • Kevin Hennessy '09 (M.S. Biosystems & Agricultural Engineering)
  • Jennefer Klennert '95 (B.S. Natural Resources and Environmental Studies)
  • Sharon Marsh
  • Sean O'Connor '01 (B.S. Natural Resources and Environmental Studies)
  • Monica Rauchwarter