Campus News

Gopher Crops and Soils win SASES Quiz Bowl

The University of Minnesota Gopher Crops and Soils (GCS) Club did extremely well at SASES (Students of Agronomy, Soils and Environmental Science) Quiz Bowl at the SASES annual meetings in Phoenix, Arizona this November! Students fielded a slew of questions on agronomy, soils and environmental science and impressed everyone in the room. An all Minnesota team made it to the Quarterfinals, while CFANS students Dillan Smith and Megan Stevens played a huge role in the multi-institution team that eventually won the championship trophy.

Gopher Dairy Judging Team Wins Big at Louisville

The University of Minnesota's dairy cattle judging team tops the field once again! The team won the NAILE (North American International Livestock Exposition) contest for the second time in a row this year, leading them to five victories in the past seven years. The team placed 1st team overall (all 4 team members were among the top 5 individuals),2nd reasons, 1st team Guernsey, 1st team Jersey, 2nd team Holstein, 3rd team Ayrshire, and 5th team Brown Swiss. 

The team consisted of Ethan Dado --1st overall, 2nd reasons, 1st Guernsey, 2nd Holstein, 9th Ayrshire, Austin Schmitt-- 2nd overall, 4th Guernsey, 6th Ayrshire, 9th Jersey, 10th Holstein, Gabriella Sorg-- 4th overall, 2nd Guernsey, 2nd Jersey, and Laura Jensen--5th overall, 5th reasons, 1st Jersey, 4th Brown Swiss. 

U of M Livestock Judging Team Ends Their Season

Mid-November, the University of Minnesota Livestock Judging Team competed at NAILE, their last contest of the season. Paige Netzke had the honor of receiving high individual in sheep. Other members of the team include Maggie Larson, Scott Dingles, Fred Mansfield, Emma Penzenstaddler, Rachel Engel, Josef Pettit, and Mindy Rinkel

FSCN Honors Faculty for Years of Service

FSCN recently honored four faculty members for their years of service to the university and department.

Professors Ted Labuza (45 years), Al Levine (M.S. Botany '73, Ph.D. Nutrition '77) (40 years) , Joanne Slavin (35 years) and Dave Smith (35 years) were honored at a departmental gathering on November 18.

Congratulations and thanks to these faculty members for all of their hard work and dedication to the department!

Congratulations, Norman Borlaug Science Achievement Award Recipients!

Since 2005, the Norman Borlaug Science Achievement Award program has been recognizing high school juniors who excel in science, scholarship and service. Through the involvement of dedicated CFANS alumni, awards are presented to students selected by their local high schools. Students receiving the award are also eligible for a scholarship upon their successful enrollment in CFANS. In 2016, the award was presented to 44 students. This fall, seven of last year's recipients enrolled at CFANS and received a $1,000 scholarship! Thank you to the alumni volunteers, high schools and students that were part of this year’s success. Click here to learn more about the program and become a volunteer. Students pictured are: Back row left to right: Joe Schieber, William Teachout, Patrick Thofson, Alex Franzen; Front row: Luke LaMoore and Seth Melson; Not pictured: Emily Annexstad.

African Journalists explore CFANS Progams during St. Paul Visit

As part of the Edward R. Murrow Program for Journalists, administered by the State Department, the U of M School of Journalism hosted 13 journalists from 13 different African countries. On Nov. 4, these journalists visited the St. Paul campus to explore CFANS research on agriculture and food safety. Plant Pathology Professor and Department Head Jim Bradeen discussed general CFANS research and ongoing Stakman-Borlaug Center for Sustainable Plant Health projects. Applied Plant Science graduate student Nicole Mihelich and plant pathology grad student Zennah Kosey led participants on a tour through campus greenhouses and research areas while discussing their own research. 

President Kaler hosts office hours on the St. Paul Campus

President Kaler periodically sets aside time to meet with students during student office hours. This month, President Kaler hosted student office hours on the St. Paul campus to improve St. Paul student access to the president.  Madison Muir and Libby Wilts, who both study Agricultural Communication and Marketing, as well as Wendy Baumann, who is studying Agricultural Education, met with President Kaler to share their CFANS experience and to have an opportunity to get to know President Kaler and share their thoughts.