CFANS People

This summer, we would like to introduce three new staff members who joined the CFANS family: Kathy Krum, Tim Loesch, and Barb Thees.

We are excited to announce the recipients of this year's CFANS Honors and Awards. All awards were handed out at the CFANS College Assembly on May 9, 2018.

2018 College Awards Recipients

Allen S. Levine has been named as the University's Vice President for Research, effective immediately and continuing through Aug. 31, 2019.

Allen Levine

William Dayton has been appointed as animal science department head in CFANS, effective Monday, November 17, 2014.

Two candidates have been selected by the search committee for Director of the Minnesota Invasive Terrestrial Plants and Pests Center (MITPPC).  All faculty and staff are invited and encouraged to attend seminars offered by the candidates in November. 

CFANS student Lawrence Karango will receive a 2014 Scholarly Excellence in Equity and Diversity (SEED) Award. The SEED award honors and acknowledges students who do outstanding work at the University of Minnesota, both in and out of the classroom.

CFANS student Ariel Garsow, a sophomore food science major, is one of three University of Minnesota students selected for the new Land O’Lakes, Inc. Global Food Challenge Emerging Leaders for Food Security fellowship, a unique yearlong internship and development program for 10 students at five universities.

The University of Minnesota Global Programs and Strategy Alliance has awarded Terry Roe a 2014 Award for Global Engagement.

Two CFANS professors, Peter Reich and Stephen Polasky, have been named to Thomson Reuters' World's Most Influential Scientific Minds of 2014.

Susan Weller, an entomology professor at the University of Minnesota and director of the Bell Museum of Natural History, was recently elected to be future President of the Entomological Society of America (ESA). She will be vice president-elect in 2015, vice president in 2016, and president in 2017.

Susan Weller